Author Topic: [Q] Android mac changing  (Read 1639 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Axon

  • VIP
  • King
  • *
  • Posts: 2047
  • Cookies: 319
    • View Profile
[Q] Android mac changing
« on: June 04, 2014, 04:48:00 am »
Is there a practical method of changing mac address on android OS, I've tried several methods and apps but to no avail . You lose wifi connectivity as soon as you change the mac address, I've read that the best way is to change the first three parts of the mac address because the last three are reserved for the manufacturer, I've tried change the first three and the last three independently and nothing happened. Any help would appreciated?
« Last Edit: June 17, 2014, 11:46:12 pm by DeepCopy »

Offline Rytiou

  • Noob Zombie
  • VIP
  • Knight
  • *
  • Posts: 199
  • Cookies: 45
  • EZ's Noob
    • View Profile
Re: Android mac changing
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2014, 05:17:57 am »
First of all does your phone have root privileges? If it does have you tried Mac Address Ghost? I've tested it out and it sets the mac address for you and when I initialize it I don't lose connectivity whatsoever. If you've already tried this out I'm sorry for not providing a helpful solution but I hope this helped you out somewhat.
Quote from: Evilzone IRC
<EZBot> life, you're so lame we decided to change your nick to Rytiou's bitch.
<EZBot> Rytiou is lord of the fags and will suck dicks for shells.

Offline Axon

  • VIP
  • King
  • *
  • Posts: 2047
  • Cookies: 319
    • View Profile
Re: Android mac changing
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2014, 09:22:58 am »
My phone has root privilages, and I have tried several apps including the you mentioned. Nothing happened.

Offline Architect

  • Sir
  • ***
  • Posts: 428
  • Cookies: 56
  • STFU
    • View Profile
    • Rootd IRC
Re: Android mac changing
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2014, 10:56:30 am »
There are a couple ways I use to check devices for root.

Method 1:
Check that your phone is properly rooted with the "superuser" app's built in checker.
It should say what version of the su binary you have in '/system/xbin/su' or wherever.

For me it says:
Code: [Select]
su binary v3.0.3.2 (15)
-rwsr-sr-x  root root  /system/xbin/su

Method 2:
Now for the less obvious method. You can try using adb to shell it directly. Show me what the output of `whoami` is.

If you have a warning(s) about not being root in "superuser", something went wrong.
If something is wrong in adb's shell (i.e., you don't see `uid=0(root) gid=0(root) groups=0(root)`) then something is off with the rooting method you used entirely.

I had an update from Sprint that pretty much caused superuser to crash, and my root method to set my uid to `null` and make it impossible to run any root apps correctly. It took 4 hours to figure it out and write a patch.. Now it says `id=0(root), gid=0(root,system) groups=0(root,system)`.
« Last Edit: June 04, 2014, 10:59:47 am by Architect »

Offline proxx

  • Avatarception
  • Global Moderator
  • Titan
  • *
  • Posts: 2803
  • Cookies: 256
  • ФФФ
    • View Profile
Re: Android mac changing
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2014, 12:53:11 pm »
cat /sys/class/net/eth0/address
echo 'ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff' > /sys/class/net/eth0/address
Wtf where you thinking with that signature? - Phage.
This was another little experiment *evillaughter - Proxx.
Evilception... - Phage