Author Topic: Bandwidth Limiter  (Read 1782 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline pyte

  • Peasant
  • *
  • Posts: 79
  • Cookies: -7
    • View Profile
Bandwidth Limiter
« on: May 20, 2013, 09:09:15 am »
I'm in pursuit of a python script to limit bandwidth consumption for my home network.
if anyone has such kindly aid .
If you don't go into the tiger's cave, how will you get the cub?

xC

  • Guest
Re: Bandwidth Limiter
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2013, 06:03:56 pm »
Your router/modem should have these options built in. Go to settings and check it out.

Offline namespace7

  • Sir
  • ***
  • Posts: 561
  • Cookies: 115
  • My Brother's Keeper
    • View Profile
Re: Bandwidth Limiter
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2013, 06:19:56 pm »
most free routers that you get from ISPs DO NOT have such options. Unless you bought your own router or flashed the firmware of that ISP router with something else. Just saying.

You need a more advanced router with QOS (Quality of Service) capabilities to do that on router level. These routers can be expensive for a home user, but you could just buy a cheap d-link wrt router and flush the firmware with DD-WRT dd-wrt will make your cheap router into a much more powerful device with options that are only available on 10 times more expensive routers. Of course QoS and bandwith limiting for each ip or even port are available.

Also there is some software available that can do what you want. For example for windows you can get NetLimiter which is quite nice.
For linux there are also a lot of ways to do this on software level, like shaping using software like MasterShaper (there are alot of linux "shapers" available).

Good luck.
"A programmer’s greatest enemy isn’t the tools or the boss or the artists or the design or the legacy code or the third party code or the API or the OS. A programmer’s greatest enemy is getting stuck.
Therefore a crucial step to becoming a better programmer is learning how to avoid getting stuck, to recognize when you’re stuck, and to get unstuck." -Jeff Wofford

Offline pyte

  • Peasant
  • *
  • Posts: 79
  • Cookies: -7
    • View Profile
Re: Bandwidth Limiter
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2013, 06:59:10 am »
Thanx guys for your help.


here im trying to become kind of selfish in a way by designing a sript that wherever i go if i only manage to get it on the router, i have a lions share of the bandwidth.


about the inbuilt capabilities of the same , that's quite a good tip you've given there .
If you don't go into the tiger's cave, how will you get the cub?

Offline proxx

  • Avatarception
  • Global Moderator
  • Titan
  • *
  • Posts: 2803
  • Cookies: 256
  • ФФФ
    • View Profile
Re: Bandwidth Limiter
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2013, 08:18:34 am »
I suggest trickle, its written in C and can be used from userspace iirc.
Wtf where you thinking with that signature? - Phage.
This was another little experiment *evillaughter - Proxx.
Evilception... - Phage

Offline ohRLY

  • /dev/null
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Cookies: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Bandwidth Limiter
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2013, 10:35:45 pm »
Hi,
Also is possible create a virtual machine how proxy with a SO linux, where the QoS is controled by a Squid.

To work with bandwith control, you need know the service or port that you set a min or max in compliance/agreed.
Exist a possibility of you prefer setting for source or destination IP too, all is possible if you work to it.

If you continue with a script to manual setting on machine, please let me know to work together.
gL!
#kill -9 666

Offline kenjoe41

  • Symphorophiliac Programmer
  • Administrator
  • Baron
  • *
  • Posts: 990
  • Cookies: 224
    • View Profile
Re: Bandwidth Limiter
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2013, 11:29:29 pm »
Hi,
Also is possible create a virtual machine how proxy with a SO linux, where the QoS is controled by a Squid.

To work with bandwith control, you need know the service or port that you set a min or max in compliance/agreed.
Exist a possibility of you prefer setting for source or destination IP too, all is possible if you work to it.

If you continue with a script to manual setting on machine, please let me know to work together.
gL!
Dafuq!
If you can't explain it to a 6 year old, you don't understand it yourself.
http://upload.alpha.evilzone.org/index.php?page=img&img=GwkGGneGR7Pl222zVGmNTjerkhkYNGtBuiYXkpyNv4ScOAWQu0-Y8[<NgGw/hsq]>EvbQrOrousk[/img]

Offline ohRLY

  • /dev/null
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Cookies: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Bandwidth Limiter
« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2013, 11:45:53 pm »
Dafuq!
I have experience in QoS, TCP / IP flags, OSI layer 1-7, WAN Acceleration, debuggin and others.
There are two type of people, those who are criticizing and do nothing and the people who bring solutions and are happy.
#kill -9 666

Offline kenjoe41

  • Symphorophiliac Programmer
  • Administrator
  • Baron
  • *
  • Posts: 990
  • Cookies: 224
    • View Profile
Re: Bandwidth Limiter
« Reply #8 on: June 14, 2013, 01:31:53 pm »
I have experience in QoS, TCP / IP flags, OSI layer 1-7, WAN Acceleration, debuggin and others.
There are two type of people, those who are criticizing and do nothing and the people who bring solutions and are happy.
Woooh! Man, you know all that, am so excited to come to know a person like you. Can't wait to hear more,hooooooh.
If you can't explain it to a 6 year old, you don't understand it yourself.
http://upload.alpha.evilzone.org/index.php?page=img&img=GwkGGneGR7Pl222zVGmNTjerkhkYNGtBuiYXkpyNv4ScOAWQu0-Y8[<NgGw/hsq]>EvbQrOrousk[/img]