Author Topic: Signal through Network  (Read 1096 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hanshjc

  • /dev/null
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Cookies: 0
    • View Profile
Signal through Network
« on: May 15, 2014, 09:38:28 pm »
Hi Hackers,

I have a short product design question I hope somebody could help me with;

The System Environment:
A regular office network with windows-/mac-based PC's, (wireless) network switch and internet Router connected online.

Product:
I have a USB device switch, when it's plugged into a networked PC; the switch can be used.
Each time used  it will send a code (simple such as this one: 134S46N61)  to my website.

No need to install anything, simply bypass windows/OS and network protocol all-together, a direct simple signal from usb device to my website.

Question:
Is it possible for this USB switch to send signal straight out without anything, bypassing everything?
If yes, could somebody provide some brief advice ?

It's not for any hacking, I just need to get a small signal out only. Thanks again for helping me out, it means a lot to me.
regards,
Hans
« Last Edit: May 15, 2014, 10:09:38 pm by hanshjc »

Offline proxx

  • Avatarception
  • Global Moderator
  • Titan
  • *
  • Posts: 2803
  • Cookies: 256
  • ФФФ
    • View Profile
Re: Signal through Network
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2014, 09:42:51 pm »
This post isnt very clear however..
Most networks allow for connecting to websites thus port 80 outbound.
If you setup a daemon that listens for a handshake or perhaps and even better just a SYN or a single ACK packet with the required data this is more likely to go unnoticed by anyone in control of the network.
And.. Hubs are very very rare these days, since 20 years we use something called a switch ;)
Wtf where you thinking with that signature? - Phage.
This was another little experiment *evillaughter - Proxx.
Evilception... - Phage

Offline hanshjc

  • /dev/null
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Cookies: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Signal through Network
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2014, 09:58:28 pm »
Hah,  yes, sorry about the HUBs word, Switch is a better term for sure these days.

To describe the product, is difficult yes.
(IMAGE HERE:  http://www.hanggliderengine.com/product.jpg)


Basically it is a product that will be used to send a basic signal to my website.

I wanna do that WITHOUT having to install any windows or MAC software or whatever.
Chip inside it can be programmed in any way as to let it do as I wish > which is just getting this signal OUT when people click on it.

(simple signal/code/bytes or whatever such as this one: 134S46N61)


Question is :  can it be done ?
« Last Edit: May 15, 2014, 09:59:46 pm by hanshjc »

Offline wopr

  • Serf
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Cookies: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Signal through Network
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2014, 11:50:53 pm »
yes you be able todo this, find a microcontroller you'll have to run the switch to the io lines on the microcontroller and trigger an event  which then the microcontroller would sent your code to the server. As far which controller you need thats up to you how complex your setup is

Offline Kulverstukas

  • Administrator
  • Zeus
  • *
  • Posts: 6627
  • Cookies: 542
  • Fascist dictator
    • View Profile
    • My blog
Re: Signal through Network
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2014, 07:17:24 am »
Oh lawd. You can't send data to a website that easily. There are few, if not many, layers to overcome. First being the software level and last being the hardware level. Computer hardware without computer software is useless, so the OS is in control of the hardware, so you need to focus on that, but in the OS there are as well many levels of security.
Normally you could do it with an ATmel chip programmed as a HID device to run commands, but I dunno... not that big hardware dude, but I imagine it would be much more work than to plug your shit into the computer, press a button and PRESTO! You will need some sort of driver and/or a service that listens for special signals at the very least.

Offline proxx

  • Avatarception
  • Global Moderator
  • Titan
  • *
  • Posts: 2803
  • Cookies: 256
  • ФФФ
    • View Profile
Re: Signal through Network
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2014, 07:57:15 am »
Using actual hardware even seems cumbersome and not practical for this very purpose.
As I said if you can get an ACK and SYN packet out you have what you need.
« Last Edit: May 16, 2014, 10:01:47 am by proxx »
Wtf where you thinking with that signature? - Phage.
This was another little experiment *evillaughter - Proxx.
Evilception... - Phage

Offline hanshjc

  • /dev/null
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Cookies: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Signal through Network
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2014, 08:36:03 am »
GREAT   !!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks so much guys !    I'll give this information to my Technician, then ask him the reply.
I keep you posted, will let you know how the next steps will go !

a MILLION thank again already   ;D

Offline wopr

  • Serf
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Cookies: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Signal through Network
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2014, 12:03:03 pm »
Oh lawd. You can't send data to a website that easily. There are few, if not many, layers to overcome. First being the software level and last being the hardware level. Computer hardware without computer software is useless, so the OS is in control of the hardware, so you need to focus on that, but in the OS there are as well many levels of security.
Normally you could do it with an ATmel chip programmed as a HID device to run commands, but I dunno... not that big hardware dude, but I imagine it would be much more work than to plug your shit into the computer, press a button and PRESTO! You will need some sort of driver and/or a service that listens for special signals at the very least.


It's simpler then you think sure you have to get a more complex microcontroller/microputer with built in networking support (cough) rasp-pi would be easy. But then you'll need to code/script what you want it todo on the trigger event

Offline Kulverstukas

  • Administrator
  • Zeus
  • *
  • Posts: 6627
  • Cookies: 542
  • Fascist dictator
    • View Profile
    • My blog
Re: Signal through Network
« Reply #8 on: May 16, 2014, 02:44:04 pm »
It's simpler then you think sure you have to get a more complex microcontroller/microputer with built in networking support (cough) rasp-pi would be easy. But then you'll need to code/script what you want it todo on the trigger event
If plugging the cable into your own machine and then sending shit through the web suffices, then sure. But OP wants a device which he can connect to an existing computer and send the signal. RaspPI would not work.

Offline proxx

  • Avatarception
  • Global Moderator
  • Titan
  • *
  • Posts: 2803
  • Cookies: 256
  • ФФФ
    • View Profile
Re: Signal through Network
« Reply #9 on: May 16, 2014, 02:46:37 pm »
Building some sort of network bug would be an interesting project.
Something that is able to analyze its network env, sniff traffic and finds it way out through logic.
I once thought of creating such a program.
Wtf where you thinking with that signature? - Phage.
This was another little experiment *evillaughter - Proxx.
Evilception... - Phage

Offline Kulverstukas

  • Administrator
  • Zeus
  • *
  • Posts: 6627
  • Cookies: 542
  • Fascist dictator
    • View Profile
    • My blog
Re: Signal through Network
« Reply #10 on: May 16, 2014, 02:47:33 pm »
Building some sort of network bug would be an interesting project.
Something that is able to analyze its network env, sniff traffic and finds it way out through logic.
I once thought of creating such a program.
NSA much?

Offline hanshjc

  • /dev/null
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Cookies: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Signal through Network
« Reply #11 on: May 19, 2014, 12:12:19 pm »
It's good to know will need a combination of Software and Hardware. I thought so, yes.

But as long as it can accomplish the task to get the code (simple 9-digit code, example: 134S46N61) through to the Website (database). That's all.
More I don't need.

In the product image you saw, there will be a Chip inside, however I don't know if it's an ATmel chip or whichever type. I'll ask the Programmer that. (He's an experienced Taiwanese programmer).
Will keep you Posted.

Thanks so much for your valuable input !!!   (Seriously SuperCool)
Thanks, Arrigatou, Danke, Obrigado, Merci, Dank je, Xie-xie, Grazie, Gracias, Spasiba   ;)

Offline proxx

  • Avatarception
  • Global Moderator
  • Titan
  • *
  • Posts: 2803
  • Cookies: 256
  • ФФФ
    • View Profile
Re: Signal through Network
« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2014, 01:21:29 pm »
It's good to know will need a combination of Software and Hardware. I thought so, yes.

But as long as it can accomplish the task to get the code (simple 9-digit code, example: 134S46N61) through to the Website (database). That's all.
More I don't need.

In the product image you saw, there will be a Chip inside, however I don't know if it's an ATmel chip or whichever type. I'll ask the Programmer that. (He's an experienced Taiwanese programmer).
Will keep you Posted.

Thanks so much for your valuable input !!!   (Seriously SuperCool)
Thanks, Arrigatou, Danke, Obrigado, Merci, Dank je, Xie-xie, Grazie, Gracias, Spasiba   ;)
Raspberry + linux distro + bash script .easy ,prebuilt,secure and no programming involved.
Wtf where you thinking with that signature? - Phage.
This was another little experiment *evillaughter - Proxx.
Evilception... - Phage

Offline techb

  • Soy Sauce Feeler
  • Global Moderator
  • King
  • *
  • Posts: 2350
  • Cookies: 345
  • Aliens do in fact wear hats.
    • View Profile
    • github
Re: Signal through Network
« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2014, 05:05:55 pm »
If you want plug and play here are the only ways you can do this in the way you explained.

This is bypassing any computer and letting the device do it itself.

1) Microcontroller, Atmel AVRs can do this with the right setup. You will either need to go the WiFi route or Ethernet. If Ethernet you will need to plug it into a hub or switch or into the router, but you will need the proper hardware. If ethernet, then an ethernet controller and proper setup, check out the e ehternet shield for arduino.
Likewise, if wifi, you will need hardware for that too, wifly shield or other shield for arduino to get the idea. Now, if wif, it will need to be hhardcoded into the micrrocontroller the login info for the network, or have a simple touch interface or other means of interface to tell the microcontroller the login stuff. But this is more than doable. I've done it multiple times, after the microcontroller has a connection, either ethernet or wifi, test it with a ping to google, if okayed, send a GET or POST request to said site, hell could even make your own protocol and listen on some random port for numbers or somthing, it is all up to you.

2) RaspberryPi or similar embbed OS type device (Note: This is extreme overkill for this). A GumStix would be much much smaller the a Pi, but what ever. Same principal, your either going to need an ethernet connection or wifi. If you want plug and play with nothing attached but power, then it will have to be wifi, and then you will need to have the creds to login to the wifi and shit if you can start to get what I'm saying here.

3) have something on your PC that you install. You wouldn't even need to install anything. Store a program on the device itself that you can run from the device you plugged in. All it would need to do is "barrow" the PCs internet connection to send the numbers or whatever. IDK what the application is, but if all you wanted to do was send a few numbers from a USB device to a specified server, then storing the numbers and the program to send it on the USB device would be simple and a lot cheaper than supplying a wifi radio on the device. Once the device is plugged in, it can so an OS check, if windows, run the EXE, if linux run the bash script or something. Or go the HID route and try do it VIA HID. the Teensy(google it) would be perfect.

Any questions, I'll get to them in time. Work is murdering me, so I'll answer whenever.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2014, 05:10:08 pm by techb »
>>>import this
-----------------------------

Offline hanshjc

  • /dev/null
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Cookies: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Signal through Network
« Reply #14 on: May 21, 2014, 03:11:41 pm »
SUPER-THANKS a million for the input,  I will get my Programmer on it  !

Will inform you soon of his feedback !

BiiiiiiiG smiles on my side here !
Have a great day,
Update follows soon, I gladly share with you.

Hans