Author Topic: Hamster error in Kali  (Read 2923 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Avengers

  • Serf
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Cookies: -1
  • S.H.I.E.L.D
    • View Profile
Hamster error in Kali
« on: October 27, 2015, 02:41:42 am »
So I'm trying to learn how to use hamster in Kali 1.1, but there's a small problem. The program relies on ferret and anytime I specify my network interface I get the below error:

execle(ferret): No such file or directory

I've tried googling around but I've yet to see a clear fix, does anyone know what I need to do?

Thanks in advanced.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2015, 02:48:06 am by Avengers »

Offline Killeramor

  • Peasant
  • *
  • Posts: 115
  • Cookies: 5
  • Programming tutor for Qbasic, and beginner C++.
    • View Profile
Re: Hamster error in Kali
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2015, 06:59:10 pm »
Have you looked to see the file that it says isnt there is actually there? or miss named? I mean it is telling you the exact error. Meaning look for the file.
Knowledge is free. Share what you know, help others grow. We all start somewhere.

Offline Avengers

  • Serf
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Cookies: -1
  • S.H.I.E.L.D
    • View Profile
Re: Hamster error in Kali
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2015, 12:57:27 am »
I did look, and the file isn't there. But when I try to simply copy the ferret script over it still doesn't recognize it.

Offline zenith

  • Peasant
  • *
  • Posts: 58
  • Cookies: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Hamster error in Kali
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2015, 01:02:28 am »
Can you copy/paste everything from your console?
« Last Edit: November 09, 2015, 01:41:47 am by zenith »

Offline gray-fox

  • Knight
  • **
  • Posts: 208
  • Cookies: 52
    • View Profile
Re: Hamster error in Kali
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2015, 01:54:52 am »
Don't really know about hamsters and ferrets(except that both are animals), but this:
I did look, and the file isn't there. But when I try to simply copy the ferret script over it still doesn't recognize it.
You copy it to where? Is it in same folder with the program you're trying yo execute? If so, have you made sure it has right permission to be executed? Maybe you could add it to your "path" and test if it works then.

You are saying script, but if it happends to be binary file are you sure it ain't architecture issue? If you downloaded ready build binary somewhere is it right kind for your system?

Most likely wisest thing to do would be to leave these tools alone for now and learn some basics of Linux. Even if your issues would not have anything to do with stuff I mentioned, the fact you could not provide more info in your starting post gives quit strong impression of you lacking knowledge in  basic things. Just my opinion/guess.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2015, 02:05:33 am by gray-fox »

Offline Avengers

  • Serf
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Cookies: -1
  • S.H.I.E.L.D
    • View Profile
Re: Hamster error in Kali
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2015, 02:01:10 am »
This may provide an accurate description of the problem:
https://bugs.kali.org/print_bug_page.php?bug_id=184

The page says the bug is fixed, however I am obviously still experiencing it. I have updated anything and everything with apt-get update and apt-get upgrade

Offline gray-fox

  • Knight
  • **
  • Posts: 208
  • Cookies: 52
    • View Profile
Re: Hamster error in Kali
« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2015, 10:25:30 am »
Okay I looked into it quickly because I got curious what's the deal here. I encountered same problem as you after installing hamster-sidejack and ferret-sidejack packets from repositories(I used nexus7+nethunter).

Here is quick workaround I made for it to work and some steps of what I made to "solve" the issue. But still consider what I said in end of my previous post.

What I did first:
Code: [Select]
ls -la /usr/bin/ | grep 'ferret\|hamster'

Output:
Code: [Select]
-rwxr-xr-x.  1 root root     279164 Oct  3  2013 ferret
lrwxrwxrwx.  1 root root         33 Jan 15  2013 hamster -> ../share/hamster-sidejack/hamster

So it seems that ferret exists in /usr/bin and hamster is symlinked from "/usr/share/hamster-sidejack/". After some testing I figured that for some reason it seemed that you had to be in same directory with ferret even if it's in your "PATH" when you run the hamster. Maybe "execle()" function works bit in same manner as doing "./ferret" so it tries to execute file from your cwd instead of just calling the ferret or something, idk.

So next steps:
Code: [Select]
cd /usr/share/hamster-sidejack/
cp /usr/bin/ferret .
chmod 755 ferret
hamster
Now when running hamster inside "/usr/share/hamster-sidejack/" everything seems to work. Like I said it's more a workaround than exact fix. Basically you could just cd to /usr/bin/ but it'a not really good solution as ferret seems to save .pcap files in your current working dir. To run hamster  from anywhere you could just make some small script like this:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash
cd /usr/share/hamster-sidejack/
hamster
Save it as "call_hamster" or anything you want and move it to /usr/bin/(With right permissions).
« Last Edit: November 10, 2015, 11:45:10 am by gray-fox »

Offline Avengers

  • Serf
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Cookies: -1
  • S.H.I.E.L.D
    • View Profile
Re: Hamster error in Kali
« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2015, 02:46:02 am »
Thanks a ton for looking into this for me. I have started learning a bit about linux and I'm working through the advanced pentesting course on cybrary.it. I've completed the basic course but obviously a bunch of videos isn't going to make me an expert so I'm trying to get as much practice in the material as possible. This is one of the few things I actually enjoy learning about.