Author Topic: Pixel issues on my website...  (Read 3501 times)

0 Members and 7 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Uriah

  • Sir
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Cookies: 42
  • άξονας
    • View Profile
Pixel issues on my website...
« on: November 04, 2012, 01:10:53 am »
How many pixels do you need to make an image in order for it to take up the whole page as a background? I'm making a template in gimp to serve as the main background image and the meat of the site, but I'm not sure how many pixels to make it, and how to prevent scrolling from removing the image.
In short, I need to know how to apply what I make in gimp to my webpage.

This is my first time making a website, and I'm pretty new in this area. I Google'd it (And tried many other things), but the results haven't been very helpful...
Thank you in advance.

Offline relax

  • Sir
  • ***
  • Posts: 562
  • Cookies: 114
  • The one and only
    • View Profile
Re: Pixel issues on my website...
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2012, 06:07:16 am »
try
Code: [Select]
body {
  background: url('IMAGE.PNG') no-repeat;
   background-size: 100%;
}

Offline Uriah

  • Sir
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Cookies: 42
  • άξονας
    • View Profile
Re: Pixel issues on my website...
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2012, 06:11:45 am »
try
Code: [Select]
body {
  background: url('IMAGE.PNG') no-repeat;
   background-size: 100%;
}
Didn't work, it's still a smaller size. :( Thx though. Do I have to make it actually bigger in gimp? If so, how much bigger? How many pixels do I need to make it full screen?

Offline relax

  • Sir
  • ***
  • Posts: 562
  • Cookies: 114
  • The one and only
    • View Profile
Re: Pixel issues on my website...
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2012, 06:48:07 am »
Didn't work, it's still a smaller size. :( Thx though. Do I have to make it actually bigger in gimp? If so, how much bigger? How many pixels do I need to make it full screen?

well it dose not really matter what size you make it because people use different screen resolution
so it can look good at one screen and crappy on another

what browser are you using? the above code should work :/

« Last Edit: November 04, 2012, 06:53:00 am by relax »

Offline Uriah

  • Sir
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Cookies: 42
  • άξονας
    • View Profile
Re: Pixel issues on my website...
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2012, 06:51:55 am »
Yeah im very confused on this lol. Maybe someone who worked on EZ can give an answer? Nothing I tried on google actually worked...and there are so few website tutorials on youtube.

Offline iTpHo3NiX

  • EZ's Pirate Captain
  • Administrator
  • Titan
  • *
  • Posts: 2920
  • Cookies: 328
    • View Profile
    • EvilZone
Re: Pixel issues on my website...
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2012, 06:58:30 am »
Code: (css) [Select]
body {
  background: url('IMAGE.PNG') repeat;
   background-size: 100%;
}

Try that, use repeat instead of no-repeat
« Last Edit: November 04, 2012, 06:58:47 am by skidiot.h »
[09:27] (+lenoch) iTpHo3NiX can even manipulate me to suck dick
[09:27] (+lenoch) oh no that's voluntary
[09:27] (+lenoch) sorry

Offline Uriah

  • Sir
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Cookies: 42
  • άξονας
    • View Profile
Re: Pixel issues on my website...
« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2012, 07:03:44 am »
Same result... Maybe Zesh will know an answer when he sees this, since we're working on it together.
Thanks for the help so far guys, I'm surprised it's this hard to find an answer. I thought this would be the last thing I'd get caught up on. :D

Offline Zesh

  • Royal Highness
  • ****
  • Posts: 699
  • Cookies: 42
    • View Profile
Re: Pixel issues on my website...
« Reply #7 on: November 04, 2012, 07:33:23 pm »
Here, try this:

Code: (css) [Select]
body {
      background: url('IMAGE.PNG') repeat-x;
}

Offline relax

  • Sir
  • ***
  • Posts: 562
  • Cookies: 114
  • The one and only
    • View Profile
Re: Pixel issues on my website...
« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2012, 09:44:20 pm »
try making a new *.htm file with this as code

Code: [Select]
<body style="background:url('http://evilzone.org/index.php?action=dlattach;attach=1062;type=avatar') no-repeat;background-size:100%;">
just copy/paste

Offline Uriah

  • Sir
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Cookies: 42
  • άξονας
    • View Profile
Re: Pixel issues on my website...
« Reply #9 on: November 04, 2012, 11:19:03 pm »
Neither seem to have worked...I have no clue why. It wont even repeat across the x-axis, but I think that may be because the image would go over the width of the page if there were two. :(

Offline relax

  • Sir
  • ***
  • Posts: 562
  • Cookies: 114
  • The one and only
    • View Profile
Re: Pixel issues on my website...
« Reply #10 on: November 04, 2012, 11:22:45 pm »
Ill ask again what browser are you using?

Offline Uriah

  • Sir
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Cookies: 42
  • άξονας
    • View Profile
Re: Pixel issues on my website...
« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2012, 11:24:24 pm »
Ill ask again what browser are you using?
Oh I apologize for not having answered that. I'm using Google chrome.

Offline relax

  • Sir
  • ***
  • Posts: 562
  • Cookies: 114
  • The one and only
    • View Profile
Re: Pixel issues on my website...
« Reply #12 on: November 04, 2012, 11:31:08 pm »
Oh I apologize for not having answered that. I'm using Google chrome.
hmm that is wierd, the above code sould give you a full-sized background with chrome..
tryed a diffrent browser?

Offline Zesh

  • Royal Highness
  • ****
  • Posts: 699
  • Cookies: 42
    • View Profile
Re: Pixel issues on my website...
« Reply #13 on: November 05, 2012, 12:00:35 am »
Is 'IMAGE.PNG' actually displaying?

Offline Uriah

  • Sir
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Cookies: 42
  • άξονας
    • View Profile
Re: Pixel issues on my website...
« Reply #14 on: November 05, 2012, 12:50:51 am »
Is 'IMAGE.PNG' actually displaying?
Yep. That's why I'm confused. If something were wrong i would think nothing would happen at all. And I did save it before re-running  :D, im not making any stupid mistakes like that.
@relax: Same thing on Ie and firefox...